Review of “The Grass is Always Greener”

WARNING. There will be spoilers. Click “Read More” to see the rest of this article.

I have been dreading this episode for a month, and it finally came out, and I’ve been dragging my feet to listen to it.

It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. In fact, it was pretty good.

I confess, I started laughing when I heard Chris because I was thinking that this episode is going to be so horrible. And then I heard the lawn mower, and I was thinking, ‘oh NO NO NO literal grass puns!’.

OK I have no comment for most of the episode. Olivia is trying to move her bedroom, she does it to all the rooms in the house… I have to say, though, I can’t quite imagine her getting all that done within the span of five or six hours, even. Upstairs, downstairs, to the basement. Yikes.

Lucia: You know, your strangeness comes from your father’s side.
Me: BAHAHAHA
Best quote of the episode

All right I will say though that Kathy Buchanan portrayed David and the tractor very well. Very well. My dad is one of those guys who buys a new car every two years or so, so the cowboy western music and David’s reaction to the John Deere brought me back to when he came home a few months ago with a Dodge Ram 1500. Good job, Kathy.

There was too much going on with the guy who has a pregnant wife. He was a good endcap to the episode, but when he first appeared I was like, the heck? I wasn’t sure why he was there, and he talked about his wife and his job, and just about when I thought we had another new main character, he left. I had no idea why on earth he was there until the end. Too much character development for a guy we’re never going to see again. Although I was complaining about character development, I guess now I’m getting it.

And Olivia is going to be doing everyone’s chores for the next six months. Holy cow. Some of her lines were delivered a little too perky, kind of like Chris Anthony, but it only works for Chris Anthony.

Trying to think of something else to say… Lucia hangs around a lot, I noticed. Matthew needs some Legos to keep him out of trouble. I can’t stand Red Hollard’s ridiculous accent, and yet I am learning to love his character. He’s fun. Especially now that I know he’s not just a hobo in a basement, he has a business.

Ok yeah that’s all I have for you. This episode didn’t have a lot of things to comment on, but that’s good because that means it wasn’t bad. Just as Brian Dern says, you either have to be good, or REALLY BAD.

My rating: 7.5/10. It was good. Just not that good. Better than Fathers and Sons. Better than a lot of episodes I’ve heard.

 

Leave a Comment!!

