Review of AIOc Season 3 soundtrack

Hey nerds! I’m going to be reviewing the soundtrack compilation of episodes from Season 3 that recently came out in the Club. Have fun reading, and let me know what you think!

The Journal of John Avery Whittaker: Either they didn’t compile the score right, or there was only like three seconds of Scottish sound in the entire score. But as soon as I heard it, hello Scotland!

Walk This Way: I love the sound of the music for Penny’s chant, it brings to mind the words. And then we have MAD XYLOPHONE SKILZ. The xylophone sounds so fake and synth, probably because it was, if it was a real xylophone then John Campbell needs to upgrade his recording mic or something.

When One Door Closes, Part One: AAAAAAAAHHHHH that’s so EPIC! Jared DePasquale does a fantastic job!! If AIO ever does a movie, like a serious movie, then this guy should score it. It’s fantastic film-grade music.

When One Door Closes, Part Two: This music is like inspiring me to become a super spy. It’s pretty great in the beginning, and then it kind of dies into a kind of quiet, sad kind of thing. Then around 2:30 and later we get this great swell. The ending is O.K, not quite as epic.

The Good Soil: What a piece of music! John Campbell does a great, soothing African effect that I have rarely heard anywhere else. I want this in one of those “Two hours of” YouTube videos.

Things Not Seen: OK Just listen from 0 seconds to 7 seconds just by itself. That opening! I love it! Then for the first minute we get this great techno stuff, and then it kind of slows down into an ‘eh’ for the rest of it. But that opening!!

The Boat People, Part 1: Is that a harp?? The string thingy sounds cool with the flute. And then at 30 seconds we start this SERIOUSLY EPIC PIECE OF MUSIC. It ends at about 1:17 and the rest is kind of not as cool but still great!

The Boat People, Part 2: AHHHHH It’s Kung Fu Panda!! I want to buy this entire album so bad!! It’s so cool!!! John Campbell!! Three cheers for John Campbell!!

A Predicament of Biblical Proportions: I didn’t really like it until we got to the western part of the score, that’s really fun. And then we get this really Willy Wonky piece and I don’t really like it. Oh well.

A Forgiving Heart: I’m trying to be unbiased even though I hated this episode. I like the morose tone of the score, it reminds me of Finding Nemo for some reason. The piano at 1:16 is really neat. After the piano I don’t really like it. I enjoy ‘fuller’ scores, with lots of action scenes and epic pieces.

Where Your Treasure Is: Super fast dun-dun-dun-dun beat action score! I like it! It has a more jungle-y explorer-type feel to it. Later into the score we fall off into a kind of exploratory setting that’s not as full. More like something off of Banjo-Kazooie.

Un-Tech The Halls: OK it’s a jaunty Christmas score. What else is there to say? I don’t particularly like it but I don’t not like it either. At 1:20 it starts something that seriously reminds me of Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon and I don’t know why. And then we get back into visions of snowflakes.

 

That’s about it for my review! Thanks for reading, and if you have any questions or anything then leave them in the comments below or email us at Odysseynerds@mail.com. This is Kungfunaomi reminding you to come in and nerd out at Odysseynerds!!

Leave a Comment!!

