The Odyssey Times, Vol 1, Issue 8

Excerpts from the no-longer-existent Whitsend.org feature called the Odyssey Times. Originally published around February of 2002.

Recreational Committee Announces Schedule for next year

OdysseyThe Odyssey Parks and Recreation Committee released a schedule for all of the activities it will be promoting over the next year. The schedule shows that the group is planning more events this year than any previous year. “We’re thrilled to be offering these events,” said Nancy Owen, chairperson of the committee. “The Odyssey community has always responded positively to the programs we offer and I hope we can serve the public even more by expanding our offerings.”

Among the new programs offered is a mother-daughter baseball clinic to compliment the father-son baseball clinic held each May. “Mayor Margaret Faye asked that we start a similar program for our female baseball players in Odyssey,” said Owen. Another new program includes the establishment of an Odyssey Zamboni Drivers Treatment Committee to continue investigate the ethics of how Odyssey Civic Center treats its Zamboni drivers.

Odyssey Coyotes looking for coach

The Odyssey Coyotes baseball team is looking for a new coach for next year’s baseball season. Coach Connie Kendall, who led the team for the past four seasons, has resigned. “Being the Coyotes coach was one of the most fun and rewarding things that I’ve ever done. The problem is that with working at the Timothy Center and Whit’s End, I just don’t think I’ll have enough time next year. I don’t wanna be a poor coach for the kids and something had to go, so it ended up being the Coyotes.”

Long time coach Tom Riley is unavailable for the position as well. “I can’t think of a time in my life where I’ve been more busy,” says Riley. “Even when I was mayor, I felt like I had time to sit down at the end of the day. Now I think I’m on my feet all day every day.” Riley coached the team for more than ten years until he stopped a few years ago.

Bart Rathbone, who once coached the Stingrays softball team, offered to take the position, but the outcome of his last coaching job will probably prevent him from being coach. “That’s just the way things are around here,” says Rathbone. “You do one wrong thing and nobody ever forgets. No one remembers all the good things I do around town!” Ben Shepard, an assistant at the Timothy Center, is rumored to be a possible candidate for the coaching position.

Leave a Comment!!

